Summer Scares 2019 Resources

Click here to immediately access the Summer Scares FAQ and Resource page so that you can add some professionally vetted horror titles into your reading suggestions and fiction collections for all age levels.

Monday, March 20, 2017

This is Horror 2016 Award Winners

The winners were announced today. Click through to read all of the winners, but I have posted the novel and novella of the year winners with the author reactions below.

In general, the This is Horror Awards, both winners and long lists, make for a great collection development tool for libraries. These are all titles, especially the winners and runners up each year, that you should own and promote in a public library collection. See for yourself with this link that brings up all of the awards info in reverse chronological order.

This Is Horror Awards 2016: The Winners

This Is Horror Awards

Novel of the Year

The Fisherman John Langan
“I’m thrilled and humbled that the voters have selected The Fisherman as Novel of the Year. To have been nominated alongside the other novels in this category was already an honor, and the ballot as a whole is a reminder of the talent flourishing in the horror field. I’m grateful to everyone who sat down with my book and gave it a chance, and I’m thankful to everyone who cast a vote for it. The Fisherman owes its publication to Ross Lockhart, for which, many, many thanks. It owes its composition to my lovely wife, Fiona, for which all, all of my love.”
—John Langan, author of The Fisherman

Novella of the Year

The Ballad of Black Tom Victor LaValle
“Holy shit! I’m honored to get this news and to get such love from the This Is Horror community. I knew The Ballad of Black Tom was a bit of a risky proposition—throwing shots at an icon like Lovecraft could make a lot of people defensive. Instead this book has been warmly received by the horror community and as a lifelong horror head I can’t tell you how grateful I am for that.”
—Victor LaValle, author of The Ballad of Black Tom