RA for All...The Road Show!

I can come to your library, book club meeting, or conference to talk about how to help your readers find their next good read. Click here for more information.

Monday, May 12, 2014

Bram Stoker Winners With Sore Loser Comments

Official word from the HWA, at this link and copied below.

But a quick note first... no, more of a question.  Did those who vote actually read the entirety of NOS4A2? Did they read through the Notes on the Type?  Because I dont think they did.  I read Dr. Sleep. I havent written my review yet, and I agree it is very good.  However, the contrast between the absolutely amazing and original ending to NOS4A2 [which does t happen until the very last page with writing on it] with the AA preaching at the end of Dr. Sleep is the clincher for me.

Also, without giving away the ending, Hill had the courage to write a believable ending while King’s has a lot of wish fulfillment.  Too many people come away intact in Dr. Sleep.

I don’t know.  Maybe it is a generational thing.  You can’t go wrong with King’s great novel.  And just for the extra dimension of enjoyment and complexity it adds to the all ready classic, The Shining,   it may be worth the vote for best of the year.  But, I read a lot of books, and I still can’t get the ending of NOS4A2 out of my mind.  I know too many people who stopped reading before they got to that great ending too.  Did the judges read the entire story and still not vote for it, or did they stop before the kick in the gut that is the real end of NOS4A2.  Hmmmm.....

One final note, props to friends of RA for All Joe McKinney and J.G. Faherty on their much deserved wins. Both are great authors, but more importantly, good people.


The winners of the Bram Stoker Awards® for 2013 were announced at the Awards Banquet on May 10, 2014, at the Bram Stoker Awards Weekend and World Horror Convention in Portland, Oregon. The winners for superior achievement in each of the categories are:

Stephen King – Doctor Sleep (Scribner)
First Novel
Rena Mason – The Evolutionist (Nightscape Press)
Young Adult Novel
Joe McKinney – Dog Days (JournalStone)
Graphic Novel
Caitlin R. Kiernan – Alabaster: Wolves (Dark Horse Comics)
Long Fiction
Gary Braunbeck – “The Great Pity” (Chiral Mad 2, Written Backwards)
Short Fiction
David Gerrold – “Night Train to Paris” (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Jan./Feb. 2013)
Glen Mazzara – The Walking Dead: “Welcome to the Tombs” (AMC TV)
Eric J. Guignard (editor) – After Death… (Dark Moon Books)
Fiction Collection
Laird Barron – The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories (Night Shade Books)
William F. Nolan – Nolan on Bradbury: Sixty Years of Writing about the Master of Science Fiction (Hippocampus Press)
Poetry Collection
Marge Simon, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob, and Linda Addison – Four Elements (Bad Moon Books/Evil Jester Press)
The following awards were also presented:
The Lifetime Achievement Award
Stephen Jones
R.L. Stine 
The Specialty Press Award
Gray Friar Press
 The Silver Hammer Award (for outstanding service to the Horror Writers Assn.)
Norman Rubenstein
The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award
JG Faherty
Congratulations to all the winners!
----Ron Breznay and Norm Rubenstein
     Co-Chairs, the Bram Stoker Awards Committee

No comments:

Post a Comment